I need to see a doctor about this arm. 

Back in January, I had Kj at the shop with me.  I had just cooked him his “favorite” lunch of a plain omelette and proceeded to make my own while he danced and capered around me.  Finally finished I start to head back to my desk… And I trip.

Foolishly I try to retain control of my sandwich and drink.  Had I been smarter I would have flung my meal away and landed on my hands to cushion the fall.  Gravity is no joke, falls kill 17,000 people each year in the US.

So I land on my forearms, sandwich plate in one hand, drink in the other.  The sandwich naturally goes flying.  The drink? It was a “Mexican” coke, and shattered in my hand. Soda everywhere. Glass also everywhere, including inside my hand, so now there’s blood everywhere too.

After getting Kj calmed down and cleaning up the mess as best as I could I notice that my arm is hurting, the shoulder in particular.

That night it’s difficult to sleep. I wonder if the bone is broken. “Let’s give it a few days” I tell myself.

Six weeks later, it no longer hurts constantly, but I don’t have my full range of motion. Raising my arm over my shoulder causes a pain like a bone chip is cutting something inside, or a tendon is pinched or something. Laying on my side in bed and using that arm to put something on my nightstand caused pain.  I can’t fully rotate my arm during supination, attempting to do an overhead press causes intense pain if a significant weight is used.

I don’t know if I’ve torn my rotator cuff or cracked a bone. Waiting hasn’t fixed it.  My larger worry is that I’ll need surgery and how much that will cost, despite insurance.

Leave a Reply

