MRI Monday

I went to see my GP about my arm injury on Friday, and after an Xray & range of motion tests, it would appear that I have a supraspinatus injury.  I was referred to a MRI place and had imagery done this morning.

If you’ve never been in an MRI, it’s an interesting experience.   Though I had a general idea about how the machine worked and limited exposure to seeing them in action (generally through popular media), I hadn’t been inside one prior to today.  After filling out the multipage questionnaire asking if I had any metal within me, wires, and the like, I was brought back to a changing room.

Surprisingly I was told that I could stay clothed, I just needed to empty my pockets, remove any jewelry and my belt.  This surprised me; I was wearing jeans and I had a fleeting vision of my pants violently being yanked through the air similar to what happened to this hapless police officer. Fortunately for everyone involved my pants remained on me and I was settled into place.

The technician put headphones on me and asked if I had a particular station I’d prefer to listen to – I asked for NPR, hoping for something soothing & relaxing.  Instead I was treated to a discussion about war crimes and other horror stories while I was put into the machine headfirst.  It’s a good thing I’m not claustraphobic – all you have to look at is a featureless curved wall a few inches past your nose.  The pre-procedure documentation stated I should make every effort not to move, and that the scanning would take anywhere from 20-60 minutes.  I hooked my thumbs into my rear pockets and lightly pressed my hands into my sides to keep from shifting and focused on taking shallow breaths.

Then the scanning began.  WHUMPWHUMPWHUMPWHUMPWHUMPWHUMPWHUMPWHUMPWHUMP whiiirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr knockknockknockknockknockknockknockknockknock over and over again.  Boring, yet I’d be lying if I said my heart rate wasn’t elevated with worry about what the scans would reveal.

After all was said and done, I was out of there by 10:15 and on my way to work.  Tomorrow I should know the results of what was found.

Leave a Reply

