Envy of those who create

I have remarked in the past that I have a deep seated envy towards those who are artists, no matter what the medium.

My problem lies primarily in focus (more procrastination than anything else) and fresh ideas.   I am not a fan of motivational sayings in general; they are largely just empty words; if all it takes to motivate you is a phrase then the problem isn’t a lack of words but a lack of inner drive & self control.

Despite this, a few spring to mind:

“Good artists borrow. Great artists steal.” (origin disputed)

I’m utter shit at coming up with ideas by myself.  My wife will be the first to tell you, though, that if I am given a grain of sand to latch onto, I can make it a pearl.  I’m fantastic at improving ideas and building off them.  I can come up with 100 suggestions, flesh out all manner of backstory & histories and make believable characters.  I just have serious issues creating that initial grain of sand.

I’m fully aware that the vast majority of talented artists, writers, and creative people of all stripes are not simply gifted, but had to work for it.  I am well aware of my many failings as a man, with procrastination and a lack of focus for many things being among them.  To use another hackneyed quote, “The master has failed more times than the beginner has even tried”

So… I am envious.  I envy the sculptor who can mold clay to become a being, or reshape rock into a human likeness.  I envy the musician who can captivate others with their melodies (through voice or instrument).  The photographer who has mastered light and exposure.  The writer (especially the writer) who can create worlds and people that evoke the entire range of emotions.

I know I could do something. I just have to put the effort forward and the time to both produce and improve

Hell, that 50 Shades series started off as fan fiction of Twilight so really I have no room to complain.

Nearly a decade ago, I sat down to write a book.  I’d finished the first act and showed it to a few author friends who (surprisingly) were impressed.  Unfortunately, that work was lost when my house was ransacked and my laptop stolen.

Maybe I should follow my own advice and just write a bit each day.

Leave a Reply

