My terrible Zombie Apocalypse Novel concept

If there’s one thing popular media is short of these days, it’s Zombie Apocalypse Fiction.  I’ve been a long time fan of the zombie genre; I’m not some obsessed superfan that has an encyclopedic  knowledge of trivia from George Romero movies & obscure manga, but I started reading The Walking Dead comic back when it was in the early teens, treasure my copies of The Goon, and thoroughly enjoyed the 2004 version of Dawn of the Dead (it’s hard to believe that came out over a decade ago).

Now, everyone has a zombie book or flick.  The Walking Dead has been adapted into a hugely popular television show with a spin-off series getting ready to launch.  The iZombie comic book is on one of the young adult networks.  Max Brooks’ Zombie Survival Guide wound up with a sequel & the sequel spawned a movie that didn’t live up to the book’s potential and on and on and on.

My concept for the Zombie apocalypse came about when considering the feasibility of how zombies could happen.  Medically, it’s impossible for the ‘dead come to life’ zombies to exist, it violates laws of biology (you need ATP for muscles to work), the laws of physics (you need energy for things to move) and basic common sense.  A lot of people much smarter than I have put a lot of thought into trying to rationalize how zombies could take place so the logical thing is not “the dead have come back to life” but “some unknown / viral / biological agent has turned normal people into creatures with zombie like attributes” – think 28 Days Later, John Ringo’s Under a Graveyard Sky series, and the Flood from HALO.

But, that wasn’t enough.  I am also a large fan of fate being cruel, but not out of deliberate effort.  The road to hell is paved with good intentions. The Holy Trinity of Murphy’s Law, Finagle’s Law, and Hanlon’s Razor, with humanity driven to near extinction as a result.

There are also some less than flattering plot devices needed to make this happen, but we shall see whether I can overcome my distaste for that sort of crutch.

I’d written the first act of my book when my house was robbed and my laptop containing the only working copy of the book was taken.  Discouraged, I gave up and then… life got in the way.  The urge is still there, however, nagging me.

Leave a Reply

